Thoughts on critique, the writer’s medicine

Charlotte Nash

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANow that we’re approaching the business end of the uni semester, I’m spending a fair bit of time marking. Now, I love teaching for its own sake, but it’s also a fabulously instructive experience for my own writing. And this week, after marking about 180 critiques of fiction, I’ve been thinking a bit about the art of critique.

I’m hardly the first to write about this, and I won’t be the last (see here for a great vid on crit partners). Like many writers, I remember well my first experience of critique, and the meltdown that followed. Given I consider writing an apprenticeship, that was some sort of initiation ritual. But for those of us who didn’t pack our bags after the experience, it does make you stronger. And by stronger, I really mean: tunes your senses for who’s good to critique you and who isn’t.

Good critique is an…

View original post 715 more words

About Charlotte Nash

Writer and editor, loves Australia

Posted on May 20, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

