Interview with author Whitney K-E

I had the lovely opportunity to meet Whitney K-E at the 2012 Romance Writers Convention. Her book, What Happens In Ireland, was contracted by Secret Cravings Publishing and is out now. I decided to ask her what all the fuss was with these Irish men…

WhitneyWelcome to the blog, Whitney, and congratulations on getting published! I have to ask, what’s up with these Irish guys? Or rather, what  was your inspiration to write What Happens In Ireland?

Haha, what can I say? The Irish charm got me haha. What Happens in Ireland was inspired by my trip to Ireland. Or rather, my anticipation of it. I was so excited to travel there but I had a two year wait. And that two year wait was the perfect amount of time to start my Irish series. Based on my research, I wrote the draft and edited it when I travelled to Ireland itself. But as for why Ireland? Well, who doesn’t love an Irish hero?

Did you know that Michael Fassbender is Irish? And would you agree his hips are too narrow, but he is generally hot anyway?

I didn’t even know who Michael Fassbender was. But! Thank you for introducing us 😛 haha. Generally hot, indeed. He looks good with a ginger stubble haha.

What is your writing process like?

Hmm, a little unorganised and sporadic. But sometimes it can be quite the opposite. I started off as a pantser (I’ve moved over to the plotter side however) and the ending for What Happens in Ireland was the first scene I wrote! So, sometimes it’s a little all over the place.

What’s the hardest part of writing for you?

In What Happens in Ireland, it was the conflict. But as I said earlier, I became a plotter and learned to make sure I avoided these potholes which were marring my road to publication.

What was your journey to publication like?

A journey I have learnt much from. Sometimes it got a little rocky, but now I know I am ready for anything. I’d rather know what to expect in my future career than go in completely blind to the complications that can occur in the publishing world.

If you were writing a book about your life, what would the title be?

Confessions of a Romance Writer, haha.

For the impending zombie apocalypse, what will be your weapon of choice and why?

Oh, god. I don’t know anything about zombies! :/ Umm… does an Iron Man suit count as a weapon? Hehe. I reckon one of those world work haha.

Best advice for beginner writers?

Never give up. Treat every milestone in your career as a lesson and work hard every day. Only you can make your dreams come true.

What are you working on next?

I’m currently editing Deceive Me in Ireland (the second novel in my Irish series) and Fixing Fences, a standalone single title rural romance I wrote last year.

Whitney’s Novel: What Happens in Ireland

Ever wondered what happens in Ireland?

WhathappensinIreland_LRG 2

When Australian, Kate Barrow, meets a handsome Irishman in a Dublin bar, she has no idea that he’s about to turn her world upside-down and inside-out.

In Ireland to take on a position on a thoroughbred stud, Kate is shocked when her manager-in-co reveals himself to be the same man she’d met in Dublin.

Jack is drawn to Kate. The problem is, she won’t have him. But Jack has always loved a challenge and the intriguing woman from Oz is one he cannot resist.

Harbouring the sting of another man’s betrayal, Kate is certain she wants nothing to do with love and nothing to do with Jack O’Reilly. But when naked torsos, Mother Nature and dysfunctional umbrellas start plotting against her resolve, she realizes the charms of an Irishman are going to be hard to resist.

You can check it out here!
Comment below to be in the draw to win one of two What Happens in Ireland blog tour gift packs.

 

More About Whitney

Whitney K-E is an Australian author writing for Secret Cravings Publishing. Always a lover of the Romance genre, it was no surprise that she one day began to type her first story of love. Now, three years on, she’s contracted her first novel What Happens in Ireland and bringing reader’s tales from the Emerald Ireland to the Sunburnt Country. What Happens in Ireland releases on the 26th of April, so prepare yourself to be charmed by her story and by her characters.

If you’d like to find out more about Whitney or her novel, you can connect with her on:

Facebook

Twitter

Blog

The Romantic Muse

Posted on May 7, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Rebekah Turner

    Reblogged this on Rebekah Turner.

  2. Congratulations Whitney – what age did you start writing?

Leave a Reply

