The story that can’t be told. Yet…

Writing is important to me.  I didn’t realise how much until I nearly croaked it a few years ago. My life, in that instant, boiled down to two priorities, and one of those was writing.

The story begins here…

A long time ago I sat  in a partly-completed resort on Fraser Island. It was a wild and woolly Friday night. Most of the construction team had gone off-island while they still could. While storms lashed the bay I cocooned myself in my quarters with a book, hoping to learn more of the island’s history.

It was there I first acquainted myself with a tale that fired my imagination – a true story of lighthouses, mystery and history.  Over the years I came back to this idea again and again, fictionalising it and writing snippets into a series of tatty notebooks. But I had no real clue as to how to make it grow from snippets to a full sized manuscript.

The story falters…

I put my lighthouse story away, and began another, managing about thirty thousand words.  This is the manuscript that later became Mapping the Heart – shortlisted for the 2011 Hachette/Queensland Writers Centre Manuscript Development Program. The novel is an examination of what defines us, what protects us, and who we are when that becomes stripped away.

Then, for reasons that I can no longer fathom, I began a third manuscript. Not my genre.  Not my style.  (This one, which eventually grew up to be Return to Honour, selected for the 2011 Hachette/Queensland Writers Centre Manuscript Development Program, is now jokingly referred to by my writing sistahs as the sex and bombs novel.) I progressed slowly, tortuously.  It was difficult to take what was in my head and make it measure up on paper.  I realised I needed help, and began casting around for some instruction.

QWC rides into my life shining a beacon of light…

I took myself off to the Queensland Writers Centre to do their Year of the Novel course with Dr Kim Wilkins.  Everyone else had just one manuscript to work with.  I of course, had three, plus a sheaf of half-begun ideas… Kim, in her wisdom, suggested I work solely on Return to Honour, and that is where I finally cut my writerly baby-teeth. I might add that she is an awesome teacher, and without her guidance I would still be blathering around.

I came back to do Year of the Edit with Kim, then Sisters of the Pen was formed, and we seven ‘sistahs’ have been sharing and providing support on what can be a lonely journey ever since.

The messy truth…

I wish I could say that I start one thing, bring it to an orderly conclusion, and then begin the next.

But that would be patently untrue.

I am a shambolic creative. I am in words up to my armpits, and my life is shaped by writing. It is my greatest joy, my most profound love, and my number one aggravation.

As it stands this is where I am today, three years after I finally committed to this writing life, and two after I began to take it seriously:

  1. Return to Honour (Harry Stanton series, Book One) Completed. 110 000 words. On a final edit before I send it to Hachette for their consideration.
  2. The Samurai Legacy (Harry Stanton series, Book Two) I’ve embedded bits back in Book One, have researched like a demon and am at about 25 000 words plus a fair plan of the guts of the remainder of the story.
  3. Mapping the Heart 140 000 words.  This baby needs a structural overhaul, and I am still a bit close to it to feel confident to wield my editing blade with precision.  I’m anticipating working on it in the second half of this year.
  4. Pirates Book One (as yet untitled) 95 000 words.  An unexpected book (and my illicit love)  that came out of an idea I had on Australia Day last year, and which the sistahs encouraged me to pursue.  It has magic, fairies, pirates and dragons and is for a younger audience. It is still at draft stage and will need altering based on what happens in Book Two.  I am anticipating seven to ten books in order to complete the story arc.
  5. Pirates Book Two (also untitled) 45 000 words – a work very much in progress.  I expect to have this to finished draft stage by mid 2013.
  6. Lighthouse Novel (not yet titled) This is THE story my heart longs to tell.  But I’m not ready yet.  I know I am still learning my craft.  Some days I think it best told as historical fiction.  Some days I think it needs to be non-fiction. I often think I need to travel to certain places and stand on the land in order to get the truth of this story in my bones.  I need to do it justice.
  7. Cauldrons and Cupcakes A blog I started recently because, gee, I still need somewhere else to put that endless supply of words in my head.

There have been three significant turning points for me as a writer.  The first was becoming an active member of the Queensland Writers Centre.  I often joke that I should have a t-shirt made that reads WRITER on the front and MADE BY QWC on the reverse. The second was finding my tribe, this wonderful group of sistahs who care about writing and each other and make the journey better on the days when it is fraught and hard. The third was the experience afforded to me by the Hachette/Queensland Writers Centre Manuscript Development Program. That generous program allowed me to walk away knowing in my heart that I AM a writer, and that I CAN write.

With that faith I trust that one day I will have the skills to write the first story my Muse ever whispered in my ear.  I pray I shall not disappoint her.

About Cauldrons and Cupcakes

Hi! I'm Nicole Cody. I am a writer, psychic, metaphysical teacher and organic farmer. I love to read, cook, walk on the beach, dance in the rain and grow things. Sometimes, to entertain my cows, I dance in my gumboots. Gumboot dancing is very under-rated.

Posted on March 4, 2012, in Nicole Cody and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Cauldrons and Cupcakes and commented:

    So, when I’m not blogging on ‘Cauldrons and Cupcakes’, I’m blogging over here… Come visit our writing blog, ‘Sisters of the Pen’, and meet my wonderful creative compatriots!

  2. penelope ward

    Lovely Nicole, I loved to hear of your ventures and story on writing. As I sit here in Bali I have just completed my second week of a writing course! Yea I have finally got there. AND I am loving it, I can feel a joy and a lightness returning in leaps and bounds. Wow is all I can say.!! Sending lots of love to you and your big fat heart as you call it!! Penelope

  3. This is really inspiring! I am hoping to find a tribe soon!

  4. Ooo, you’re clever at this bloggy stuff, Nic! I need some lessons on how you embed links and stuff.
    But beyond that, this is a beautiful, gutsy post. An all-rounder. The big-picture. The wins and the losses. Heartful and true. Thanks for sharing it with us all xoxox Sal

  5. Rebekah Turner

    What a great blog, Nic. I really enjoyed reading it. I’m taking notes!!

  6. I love to write, but It’s usually to analyse something, an idea, a subject.

  7. What an inspiration! You’re doing exactly the right thing, just writing and writing and writing. I’m amazed by the number of writing projects you’ve got on the go!

    Apparently to become outstanding at anything you need to do 10,000 hours of it first (doesn’t matter what it is – becoming an Olympic athlete, a chess grandmaster, or a briliant novelist), which takes around 10 years, so the more you write the better. (I’m reading a book about all this just now called ‘Bounce: the myth of talent and the power of practice’ and it’s a real eye-opener. It’s very encouraging and positive about how any of us can become really good at anything, but it’s all about putting in the hours. I love it because it’s making me feel less guilty about all the time I spend tapping away on computer keys!)

    • Oh I hope so, Lorna! It’s really hard to explain, but the story I want to tell, based on one woman’s life at this remote Lighthouse, over a hundred years ago, is like this little burning coal inside me. I don’t want to let her down. So I’ll keep writing and writing, and learning my craft, and one day… One day I’ll tell her story in a way that does credit to her life and experiences. Thank you so much for sharing this. It reminds me too, that it’s okay to keep going, and that practice makes everything better, given enough of it. Much love to you!

      • Thank you Nicole, I’m really glad you’re keeping that burning inside of you and preparing for when you do tell her story the way you want to. I’m sure it will be all the better for having simmered away for a while (like the chicken dish you made that tasted great after slow cooking and even better the next day :)), and you’ll get a great feeling of satisfaction when you do tell it. I’m really looking forward to reading it when you get there. Lots of love.xo

  8. Ahem… Pirates “has magic, fairies, pirates and dragons and is for a younger audience”?

    Well with those literary ingredients, I’m sure it will also be for the “young at heart”! 🙂

  1. Pingback: My second blogging gong – The Very Inspiring Blogger Award | Cauldrons and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

